Skip to main content

Post an event

Sign in

HDR Research Journeys

The research journey can be a source of anxiety. Join us for a regular panel event led by research students as we unpack and find solutions!

The research journey can be a source of anxiety. Join us for a regular panel event led by research students as we unpack and find solutions!



About this Event




Are you frequently anxious about your research journey?

Do you feel that you want to get more done in less time?

That you could communicate better with your supervisors?

Or are you having second thoughts on your PhD project?

Being a research student is stimulating and exciting, but, as we are building our future careers, it is normal to become anxious about our journey.

We are NOT alone

Western Sydney University's Research Continuity Student Council invites panel members to discuss with research students topics that are crucial for our development.

These include:

  • What does it mean to have life balance throughout Post-Grad degrees
  • Why is it important to have a good working relationship with your supervisor?
  • What are the struggles of Post-Grad students?
  • How can we address these problems? What steps can we take? Short term and long term?
  • What resources are out there and where can we help? (for example food banks, financial, mental-health, free apps and online databases of wellbeing resources)

You can suggest events by contacting us at rcsc@westernsydney.edu.au




Schedule

  • Monday, 28 September 2020 1:00 pm: Leading my first paper
  • Monday, 12 October 2020 1:00 pm: Working as an academic
  • Monday, 26 October 2020 1:00 pm: How to prepare for coming to Western and how to help new students
  • Monday, 9 November 2020 1:00 pm: Managing life balance through a post-grad
  • Monday, 23 November 2020 1:00 pm: How to make the most of the library and literature resources
  • Monday, 14 December 2020 1:00 pm: What to expect post CoC
  • Monday, 11 January 2021 1:00 pm: Maximising my skill-set
  • Monday, 8 February 2021 1:00 pm: To teach or not to teach
  • Monday, 22 February 2021 1:00 pm: How to approach public speaking
  • Monday, 8 March 2021 1:00 pm: Burn out and the need for ‘RnR’
  • Monday, 22 March 2021 1:00 pm: Where to next? Academia or industry?
  • Monday, 12 April 2021 1:00 pm: How not to feel isolated and the importance of being social
  • Monday, 26 April 2021 1:00 pm: How to stay motivated throughout candidature
  • Monday, 10 May 2021 1:00 pm: When my supervisors give me conflicting advice
  • Monday, 24 May 2021 1:00 pm: Time management and goal setting to maximise progress
  • Monday, 14 June 2021 1:00 pm: When do I start writing?
  • Monday, 28 June 2021 1:00 pm: How to network through my post-grad



Previous events:

  • Monday, 1 June 2020 1:00 pm: Preparing for supervisory meetings
  • Monday, 15 June 2020 1:00 pm: Working with my panel
  • Monday, 6 July 2020 1:00 pm: Leading my CoC / PoP
  • Monday, 20 July 2020 1:00 pm: When my research is not going well / Setbacks
  • Monday, 3 Aug 2020 1:00 pm: How to work when intimidated by supervisor
  • Monday, 17 Aug 2020 1:00 pm: Preparing for my first public engagement
  • Monday, 7 Sept 2020 1:00 pm: Looking for the next step



Category Family & Kids